Home Forum Sponsors Careers Contact Us
Login  |  Register
Download Latest Newsletter (Issue 179)
Europe North America Asia Rest of the World Global News & Policies
Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnerships Add Canadian Provinces

Thursday, February 17, 2005
Source: DOE
Article Type: Cited

The Department of Energy (DOE) announced on Feb. 17 that the Provinces of Alberta and British Columbia have joined Saskatchewan and Manitoba as Canadian partners in the Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnerships program, the centerpiece of North American efforts to validate and deploy carbon sequestration technologies. The program, a network of federal and state agencies, as well as private sector entities, will determine the most suitable technologies, regulations, and infrastructure for future carbon capture, storage, and sequestration in different areas of the country.

The Department of Energy selected seven original partnerships in August 2003. With the addition of organizations from Alberta and British Columbia, the partnerships now include 216 organizations spanning 40 states, three Indian nations, and four Canadian provinces.

The regional partnerships support President Bush's Global Climate Change Initiative, which calls for an 18 percent reduction in U.S. greenhouse gas intensity by 2012. They also complement the work of the Carbon Sequestration Leadership Forum, an international effort spearheaded by DOE to develop and deploy carbon capture and storage technologies worldwide.

The partnerships provide a critical link to the Administration's plans for FutureGen, a highly efficient and technologically sophisticated coal-fired power plant that will produce both hydrogen and electricity, with near-zero emissions. The partnerships will provide the regulatory, infrastructure, and site-selection basis for possible wide-scale deployment of FutureGen technology options in the future.

DOE is providing approximately $13.3 million to support the seven partnerships during the first phase of the program. The participating organizations are contributing another $6.9 million, an average of nearly 34 percent of the total funding. The partnerships are managed for the Energy Department by the Office of Fossil Energy's National Energy Technology Laboratory.

The two regional partnerships that added new partners from Canada are Plains CO2 Reduction Partnership and West Coast Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnership. The Province of Alberta became part of the Plains CO2 Reduction Partnership in January 2005. British Columbia joined the West Coast Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnership (WestCarb) in December 2004.

In addition to the two expanded partnerships, the national network includes: Big Sky Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnership, led by Montana State University; Midwest Geological Sequestration Consortium (Illinois Basin), headed by the University of Illinois-Illinois State Geological Survey; Midwest Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnership, led by Battelle Memorial Institute; Southeast Regional Carbon Sequestration Partnership, led by the Southern States Energy Board, and; Southwest Regional Partnership for Carbon Sequestration, led by the Western Governors' Association and New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.

Your Name:
Verification Code:  
  The comments submitted do not represent CaptureReady's standpoint, is not responsible for any of those, and entitled to deal with them.
Search News
Sponsors | Careers | Contact Us | Privacy | Terms of Use
© 2008~2010 LINKSCHINA. All rights reserved       ICP:08005527